Hmmm - What's this?
Pink Floyd Online

Comprehensive and Interactive Fan Site | shortcut:


Box Sets

There are currently 2 Officially released Pink Floyd box sets: The ‘Shine On Box Set’ and the ‘Oh, By The Way Box Set’.

Shine On got it’s name from the song ‘Shine On You Crazy Diamond’ and Oh, By The Way from the song ‘Have A Cigar’. (“Oh by the way, which one’s Pink?”)

Shine On Box SetShine On Box Set
Shine On Box SetShine On Box Set

Shine On

Shine On is a nine CD box set by Pink Floyd which was released in 1992 to coincide with Pink Floyd’s 25th Anniversary as a recording and touring band. All CDs were digitally remastered.

The eight albums included in this box set are:

  1. A Saucerful of Secrets
  2. Meddle
  3. The Dark Side of the Moon
  4. Wish You Were Here
  5. Animals
  6. The Wall (double album)
  7. A Momentary Lapse of Reason
  8. The Early Singles (bonus CD not available elsewhere)

The packaging on each of the previously-released albums was unique to this set. The eight black CD cases lined up to show the prism from The Dark Side of the Moon.

Included with the box set was a hardcover book chronicling the career of Pink Floyd from its inception (using band names such as Sigma 6, The Architectural Abdabs, The Screaming Abdabs, The Abdabs, the Megadeaths, The Tea Set, The Pink Floyd Sound, The Pink Floyd, and Pink Floyd) to the late 1980s.

The original title of the box set according to drummer Nick Mason on the group’s 1992 appearance on the U.S. radio show Rockline to promote the box set was The Big Bong Theory, but was outvoted. David Gilmour on that same interview said calling the box set Shine On was not a bowing out retirement box set but a continuation.

  • Roger Waters – Bass, Vocals, Tape effects, Sleeve design, Lyrics, Producer and Tuba
  • David Gilmour – Guitar, Slide guitar, Kazoo, Tape effects, Bass, Lap steel, Vocals, Lyrics, Producer and all instruments on “Sorrow”
  • Richard Wright – Keyboards, Organ, Piano, Synthesizer, Trombone, Clavinet, Tape effects, Lyrics, Producer and Vocals
  • Nick Mason – Drums, Percussion, Vocals, Tape effects, Producer and Vocalisations on “One of These Days” and “Corporal Clegg”
  • Syd Barrett – Guitar, Lyrics and Vocals on Jugband Blues, Arnold Layne, See Emily Play, “Apples And Oranges”, Candy and a Currant Bun and “Scarecrow”
  • Norman Smith – Producer, Drums on Remember a Day
  • 8 members of the Salvation Army (The International Staff Band) – Ray Bowes (cornet), Terry Camsey (cornet), Mac Carter (trombone), Les Condon (Eb bass), Maurice Cooper (Euphonium), Ian Hankey (trombone), George Whittingham (Bb bass), and one other on “Jugband Blues”
  • Clare Torry – Vocalisations on The Great Gig in the Sky
  • Dick Parry – Saxophone on Money, Us and Them and Shine On You Crazy Diamond
  • Roy Harper – Vocals on Have a Cigar
  • Carlena Williams and Vanetta Fields – Backing vocals
  • Lesley Duncan, Doris Troy, Barry St. John, Liza Strike – Vocals (background)
  • Islington Green School, led by Noel Davis – Choir on Another Brick in the Wall (Part 2)
  • Jeff Porcaro – Drums on Mother
  • Lee Ritenour – Acoustic guitar on Comfortably Numb
  • Jon Carin – Keyboards on A Momentary Lapse of Reason
  • Scott Page – Tenor saxophone on The Dogs of War
  • Tony Levin – Bass on A Momentary Lapse of Reason
  • Storm Thorgerson – Sleeve design
  • Aubrey Powell – Sleeve design
  • James Guthrie – Remastering producer, Producer, Percussion on The Happiest Days of Our Lives and In The Flesh, drill on Hey You and Synthesizer on Empty Spaces
  • Doug Sax – Remastering
  • Alan Parsons – Engineer
  • Bob Ezrin – Co-producer on The Wall, Orchestra arrangements, Co-writer on “The Trial”, Keyboards, Piano on “Nobody Home”
  • Gerald Scarfe – Sleeve design on The Wall
  • Michael Kamen – Orchestra arrangement on The Wall
  • The New York Orchestra – The Wall
  • Patrick Leonard – Lyrics and Synthesizer
  • Joe Boyd – Producer on Arnold Layne and Candy and a Currant Bun
  • Steve O’Rourke – Manager
  • Seamus the dog – Vocalizations on Seamus

Oh, By The Way Box SetOh, By The Way Box Set
Oh, By The Way Box SetOh, By The Way Box Set

Oh, By The Way

Oh, By the Way is a Limited Edition compilation box set released in December of 2007. The box set includes all fourteen of their standard studio albums, packaged as mini-vinyl replicas. In addition to the albums, and their extras, the set comes with a specially designed 40th Anniversary poster by Storm Thorgerson, featuring 40 Pink Floyd images.

The albums included in this box set are:

  1. The Piper At The Gates of Dawn
  2. A Saucer Full of Secrets
  3. More
  4. Ummagumma (2CD – Gatefold)
  5. Atom Heart Mother (Gatefold)
  6. Meddle (Gatefold)
  7. Obscured By Clouds
  8. The Dark Side of The Moon (Gatefold)
  9. Wish You Were Here
  10. Animals (Gatefold)
  11. The Wall (2CD – Gatefold)
  12. The Final Cut (Gatefold)
  13. A Momentary Lapse of Reason
  14. The Division Bell

Each CD is a faithful reproduction of the original vinyl using original artwork, and LP dust sleeve.

The box set also includes:

  • 20″ x 30″ limited edition high quality paper poster only available in this collection.
  • Portrait collage contains a new Storm Thorgerson arrangement of 40 images from the band’s history.
  • Two Pink Floyd Coasters with classic Floyd images.

3 comments on the “Box Sets” page

  1. December 1st, 2011 at 7:24 am


    Is Discovery the newest Pink Floyd box set? Which set is the best, most complete?

  2. December 20th, 2011 at 8:40 am

    Randy Levine

    I don’t know. Relatively perhaps. The reason being that the album “Relics” is not included. I would like to know why.

  3. February 13th, 2012 at 1:51 pm

    steven chapman

    How much iS this album worth I have got one to sell


You must be logged in to post a comment.